What is Our Legacy?

30 Nov

We in America use it everyday: storing food, food packaging, drink containers, dishes, toys, toothbrushes, computer hardware, etc., etc.  After we use it we “throw it away.”  I’m asking, where is “away?” 

I’m finding out that there is no good place for it- landfills, oceans, rivers, birds, fish- and only 5% gets recycled. 

Ten Ideas to Reduce Plastic in My Life and in Our World: 

  1. reusable shopping bags
  2. refillable lighters
  3. recyclable toothbrushes
  4. food items packed in glass
  5. growing my own vegetables and other produce
  6. refillable metal or glass water containers
  7. reusable produce bags
  8. be vigilant about getting what I use recycled
  9. pick up litter
  10. stop buying it in as many ways as possible

I’m going to try harder to reduce and eliminate plastic from my life.  Will you?

Leave a comment